Hiking Los Angeles, Malibu, Santa Monica Mountains

It’s amazing the thoughts and beliefs we hold onto.

Even long after we are adults and can clear the clutter of the limiting beliefs we’ve been taught, there are still some beliefs that hang on.

Lately I have been walking by lots of feathers lying on the ground.  One of the things my mom told me when I was very young was, “don’t pick up feathers because they may have lice”.  That is something that, until recently, I listened to and obeyed.

IMG_0962Feathers, though, are one of the most powerful animal totems.  If you’ve read the book, “Animal Speak” by Ted Andrews, you know that feathers are considered gifts from the divine.

Feathers have long been associated with the wind, the mind, new flights, and a direct connection to divine forces.

Ted Andrews says, “as you begin to study and honor the birds you encounter, you will find yourself being gifted…

View original post 352 more words

